Latest News


chiefsbuya msuthuFS StarsChippa


The Maize Cup 2018 of North West Province was Launched by MEC of Department of Education and Sport Development Mr. Sello Lehari on 6 of July at Carousel Hotel Hammanskraal, Moretele.

The occasion was graced by Honourable MEC Jonas Sello Lehari, HOD Ms Semaswe, Mayor of Moretele Mr Adries Monaheng, Dr Mvula Acting DDG, Dr Mogajane, Mr Masilo DDG for Curriculum, Cllr Molete, Acting Mayor of Matlosana Rre Rebabedi, Ambassadors and Football clubs.

The draw was done by the Honourable MEC and the four participants which are Kaizer Chiefs, Buya Msuthu, Free State Stars and Chippa United and one-day tournament have been confirmed.

The Tournament will take place on Saturday 14 July at James Motlatsi Stadium, Orkney where Soweto giant Kaizer Chiefs will be defending their Maize Cup 2017 Championship title having won last year’s edition of the four-team tournament after beating Free State Stars 1-0 in the final. Kaizer Chiefs will play with Buya Msuthu at 10:00 in the morning and Chippa United will play with Free State Stars at 12:00 in the afternoon. The final will play at 16H00pm.