Dr Kenneth Kuanda District

Dr Kenneth Kaunda District is situated in the Southern East of the Provience.The district is servicing 206 Schools.

The district office is based in Potchefstroom in the Manucipality of Tlokwe.  The district in the the guidance and leadership of Mr Hasimbhay Motara who is the District Director.

The district comprises of three (3) Area Offices, namely:

  • Matlosana
  • Tlokwe
  • Maquassi Hills

At Matlosana Area Office there are four Circuits namely

  • Meepong
  • J.C.Motaung
  • Refentse
  • Tswelelopele

In Tlokwe Area Office the are four Circuits namely

  • Super A
  • Re tla Kgona
  • Morning Star
  • Tshing

In the Maquassi Hills consist of three circuits namely

  • Naledi
  • Maquassi Hills North
  • Tswaing Circuits

The Functions

The Function of the district is to support the three Area Offices to ensure the effective and efficient provisioning/implementation of professional services/policies.
The function of the Area Offices is to co-ordinate and ensure the effective and efficient delivary of services to Learning Institutions. The district also comprices of the following Sub-Directorate namely Auxilliary Services, which provide auxiliary support, Human Resource Administration and Management Services, which is to ensure the effective and efficient provisioning of human resource administration and management services.
Financial Accounting and Management Services to ensure the effective and efficient provisioning of financial accounting and management services. Sub-Directorate Professional Support Service is to provide professional support services.

The district is involved in various project or activities with various stakeholder such as Anglo Gold Ashanti wihich are called Social and Labour Plan Projects.On the 29 May 2015, Aglo Gols Ashanti handed over the following projects to the Department in the Matlosane Area ane the projects are as follows.

1.1    Computer Laboratory at Tigane Primary School
1.2    Four Classroom at Thea Merafe Primary School
1.3    Science Laboratory at Thuto Tsebo Secondary School
1.4    Five Classroom at Are Bokeng Primary School
1.5    Science Laboratory and Refurbished building at Vaal Reefs Secondary School
1.6    Five Classrooms at Vuyani Mawethu
1.7    Library at Tukisang Primary School

The district is also involved is a partnership with the North West University in Potchefstroom Campus which is called the Partnership Of Hope.  This partnership is assisting the district in training educators of Foundation Phase especially in Maths and Science Teachers in the district.